What’s New in Traffic Law for 2014By Larry A. Davis and Thomas C. SpeedieNovember 2014Article, Page 532Are you a lawyer who represents drivers, or maybe one who gets behind the wheel from time to time? Here are nine important traffic law developments.
Fines for vehicles driving without a certificate of safetyApril 2014Illinois Law Update, Page 168The Illinois Vehicle Code has been amended to institute new fines for persons operating a vehicle on a state highway without an effective certificate of safety displayed, in violation of Illinois Vehicle Code safety inspection requirements.
License renewal application fees changed for new and used car dealersApril 2014Illinois Law Update, Page 168The Illinois Vehicle Code has been amended to require both new and used car dealers to pay a license renewal application fee to be determined by the amount of automobiles sold by the dealer in the prior year, as per the following scheme: for 25-200 automobiles sold, a fee of $150; for 200-300 automobiles sold, a fee of $300; and for 300 automobiles or more sold, a fee of $500.
Police seizure of unauthorized-lights-sporting vehiclesApril 2014Illinois Law Update, Page 168In addition to facing a Class A Misdemeanor for possessing "oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights or other indicia of emergency vehicle authority within any portion of a motor vehicle," upon a legal search, a searching law enforcement officer must seize, upon violation, any such indicia or equipment.
Of Traffic Tickets and TrustsJuly 2013Column, Page 367Advising commercial drivers about traffic tickets, and why the next will you draft should have a supplemental needs trust provision.
Stricter penalties for speeding. PA 097-0831July 2013Illinois Law Update, Page 336Starting this summer, defendants cited for operating a vehicle more than 25 miles per hour over the speed limit in urban areas or more than 30 miles per hour over the limit on highways face stricter penalties.
Video transmitting equipment now allowed inside a vehicle. PA 097-0499December 2011Illinois Law Update, Page 610Illinois lawmakers have amended the Illinois Vehicle Code to allow drivers to operate vehicles that have video transmitting equipment permanently installed as long as the driver is unable to see the equipment displays while driving. (625 ILCS 5/12-604.1)
The bloody truth about DUI testingBy Helen W. GunnarssonOctober 2011LawPulse, Page 490Just because the state has blood test results to use against your DUI client doesn't mean the case is over, a defense lawyer argues.
Back seat passengers must wear seatbelts. PA 097-0016.September 2011Illinois Law Update, Page 440The Illinois Vehicle Code has been amended to require all passengers to wear safety belts. (625 ILCS 5/12-603.1). Formerly, the requirement only applied to a driver, front seat passenger, and other riders under the age of 19.
Increased fines for DUI offenders. PA 096-1342August 2011Illinois Law Update, Page 388The Illinois Vehicle Code has been amended to increase the fine for anyone who is found guilty of or pleads guilty to driving under the influence. 625 ILCS 5/11-501.01.