

# **Illinois State Bar Association**

424 South Second Street Springfield, IL 62701

To: 2024 ISBA High School Mock Trial Invitational Teams & Volunteers

From: ISBA Law-Related Education Committee & Katy Flannagan, Coordinator

**Date:** March 22, 2024

Re: Congratulations & Thank You!!

Thank you for participating in and volunteering for the 2024 ISBA High School Mock Trial Invitational! We are happy to report another successful Invitational and we could not have done it without YOU!

We are very pleased to announce the following awards:

## **Top Three Teams**

1st place - College Preparatory School of America (CPSA)

2nd place - Stevenson High School

3rd place - Maine South High School

#### Top Eight Scoring Teams (Alphabetical Order):

College Preparatory School of America

De La Salle Institute

Maine South High School

Niles North High School

Timothy Christian High School

Stevenson High School

Wheeling High School

Whitney M. Young Magnet High School

#### Donna E. Schechter Memorial Law Test Award

(Highest team average on the Law Test)

## York Community High School

## Civility & Professionalism Award

(Recognizes teams and team members who exemplify characteristics and qualities the Invitational seeks to instill in participants: professionalism, justice, civility, and fairness, both inside and outside the courtroom. Nominated by other teams.)

## Niles West High School

## **Outstanding Attorney Awards**

JaLynn ClaggBartlett High SchoolDylan SzatkoBartlett High School

Jahaziah Morris Chicago Christian High School

Samiha Amjad College Preparatory School of America (CPSA)
Fatima Iqbal College Preparatory School of America (CPSA)

Gabrielle Wilson De La Salle Institute Kira Tepper De La Salle Institute

Sarina Harjani Glenbrook South High School

Kavi Richmond Homewood-Flossmoor High School

Madelyn Peterson Huntley High School
Anthony Benbenek Maine South High School
Charlotte King Maine South High School
Vrisha Kotak Maine West High School
Jamie Kimmel-Choldin Niles North High School

Kruthi Sudhir Normal Community High School Karissa Zimmerman Normal Community West High School

Daniella Williams O'Fallon Township High School

Janessa RavazeeSouthland College PrepRajan SukhatmeStevenson High School

Payton Frens Timothy Christian High School

Kristina Sakayeva Wheeling High School

Gabriella Liang Whitney M. Young Magnet High School

# **Outstanding Witness Awards**

Alex Luczkiewics Barrington High School Brooke Parizek Boylan Catholic High School

Ahmed Iqbal College Preparatory School of America (CPSA)

Janielle Kemp-France De La Salle Institute

Tanya Shankar Dunlap High School Spencer Barton Evanston High School

Emily Antolovic Glenbrook South High School
Donald Esgar Highland Park High School

Arel Wiggins Homewood-Flossmoor High School

Martin Suarez

Lake Forest High School

Mateo Garcia

Libertyville High School

Mia Thurman

Maine South High School

Victoria Hernandez

Maine West High School

Joclynn Stewart Minooka Community High School

Natalia Gzutierrez Mundelein High School

Sanjana Gurram Naperville North High School Maerie Gaerlan Normal Community High School

Gabe Montgomery Normal West High School
Michael Henderson Rich Township High School
Jack Stahl South Elgin High School

Kehinde Sowemimo Southland College Prep High School

Rocco Ramos St. Charles East High School Nitya Shastry Stevenson High School

Jennifer Stob Timothy Christian High School Matthew Gritters Timothy Christian High School

Laylah Elmore Unity Christian Academy Maryam Abbas Wheeling High School Sarah Weiser Wheeling High School

Emma Cabage York Community High School

## A HUGE THANK YOU to our fantastic volunteers who made this all possible!

**Erin Beavers Emily Ahrens** Krista Appenzeller Sandra Bohlen Melissa Brown Tina Briggs Nick Burton Kathryn Bushue Francis Chinaka Hon. Michael Chmiel Billie Constant Cassandra Cooper Nathaniel Davidson Hon. Kenneth Deihl Kimberly Davis Hector Delgoda Noah Dwyer Sharon Eiseman Hon. Michael Fiello Hon. Bruce Falk Eliece Frisbie Hon. Luke Ginder Hon. Rex Gradeless Missy Greathouse

Molly Gregory Lori Gronewold Jason Han

William Henry Noel Hertz Timothy Hudspeth

David Hughes Andrew Jarmer Brian Kalb

Mark Kawinski Audrey Laye Theresa Lechner Joel Lemmert Jo-An Lynn Mallory Maag Tom McClure Kateah McMasters Valerie Moehle

Cathy Molchin Greg Moredock Michele Moreschi

Julia MorrisonCharlies MunsonGabe NeibergallTed NiemannHon. John O'GaraLeslie PadillaHinal PatelHoward PeritzKatherine Perry

Jaime Pineda Jacob Pollock Hon. Michael Robinson

Hon. Heinz Rudolf Hon. Debra Seaton Christine Self
Thomas Siegel Timothy Slating Ignat Striletskyi
Rylie Sparks Sarah Taylor Steven Taylor

Julian Valdes Kathryn Warren Angelica Wawrzynek

Shirley Wilgenbusch Sonni Choi Williams Christine Zeivel

# **2024 Participating High Schools**

Barrington High School Barrington Bartlett High School Bartlett Normal Bloomington High School Boylan Catholic High School Rockford Buffalo Grove High School Buffalo Grove Carmel Catholic High School Mundelein Chicago Christian High School Palos Heights College Preparatory School of America Lombard Chicago

De La Salle Institute Chicago
DePaul College Prep Chicago
Dunlap High School Dunlap

Elk Grove High School Elk Grove Village

Evanston Township High School
Glenbard South High School
Glenbrook South High School
Highland Park High School
Hinsdale Central High School
Hinsdale South High School
Homewood-Flossmoor High School
Flossmoor

Huntley High School Huntley

John Hersey High School Arlington Heights

Lake Forest High SchoolLake ForestLaSalle-Peru Township High SchoolLaSalleLibertyville High SchoolLibertyvilleMaine South High SchoolPark Ridge

Maine West High SchoolDes PlainesMinooka Community High SchoolChannahonMt. Vernon Township High SchoolMt. Vernon

Mundelein High School

Naperville North High School

Naperville

Niles North High School Skokie

Skokie Niles West High School Normal Community High School Normal Normal West High School Normal O'Fallon Township High School O'Fallon Oak Park River Forest High School Oak Park Rich Township High School Richton Park Rolling Meadows High School Rolling Meadows St. Charles East High School St. Charles St. Charles North High School St. Charles South Elgin High School South Elgin Southland College Prep High School Richton Park Stevenson High School Lincolnshire Elmhurst Timothy Christian High School Unity Christian Academy South Holland University of Chicago Laboratory School Chicago Wheaton Academy West Chicago Wheeling High School Wheeling Whitney M. Young Magnet High School Chicago York Community High School Elmhurst

Thank You & Congratulations!!!

We hope to see you again in 2025!!