Special Committee on Serving Lawyers in Rural Practices

This special committee was created to augment the work of the Standing Committee on the Rural Practice Initiative. By definition, the special committee will have a limited time in which to accomplish its charge. The special committee will be asked to focus on examining and making recommendations on how best ISBA can serve the needs of lawyers practicing in rural areas of Illinois. The special committee will, as part of its charge, need to address the segue between the needs of rural practitioners and the Rural Practice Fellowship Program, including recommendations of the structure of the Rural Practice Fellowship Program.

Listening Tour

ISBA President Rory Weiler, Illinois Supreme Court Justice Lisa Holder White, and Judge Eugene Doherty
See photos from Rural Practice Initiative Listening Tour - Rock Falls - 10/6/2022

As the only statewide general bar association in Illinois, the ISBA strives to provide services and programs that help Illinois lawyers successfully and effectively represent clients and operate their practices. To gain a deeper understanding of the experiences of rural practitioners in Illinois and how the ISBA can best meet their needs, the ISBA’s Special Committee on Serving Lawyers in Rural Practices held a listening tour (in person and via Zoom) throughout Illinois in the fall of 2022.

Missed a Listening Tour?

Let us know about your needs as a rural practitioner and how the ISBA could help.


Please email Samantha with any questions or concerns.