Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

Quincy Attorney Lannerd appointed circuit judge in 8th Circuit

Chief Justice Rita B. Garman and the Illinois Supreme Court have announced the appointment of Quincy attorney Amy C. Lannerd as a Circuit Judge in the Eighth Judicial Circuit.

Ms. Lannerd was appointed Wednesday to fill the at-large vacancy created by the retirement of Judge William O. Mays, Jr. Her appointment takes effect April 12, 2016, and terminates December 3, 2018, when the position is filled by the 2018 General Election.

Chief Justice Garman recommended the appointment of Ms. Lannerd after a review process by a judicial screening committee, which found her exceptionally well-qualified for the position.

"I am humbled and honored to have the opportunity to serve the people of the Eighth Judicial Circuit," Ms. Lannerd said.

Ms. Lannerd currently engages in general practice as a partner at Lewis, Longlett & Lannerd LLC in Quincy. She has practiced law in the Eighth Judicial Circuit since her 2001 admission to the Illinois bar.

Born in Quincy, Ms. Lannerd graduated from University of Arizona in 1998 with a Bachelor of Science degree in finance. She received her Juris Doctor degree from University of Denver in 2001.

Ms. Lannerd is the current secretary of the Great River Economic Development Foundation and treasurer of the Adams County Bar Association. She has volunteered for several community groups and boards, including Quincy Service League and Quincy Rotary East Club.

Chief Justice Garman's judicial screening committee, which reviewed the candidates seeking the appointment, consisted of four non-lawyer members and three lawyers, all of whom reside in the Eighth Judicial Circuit.
The non-lawyer members were Clairice Hetzler, Amy Looten, Dr. Harry Ruth, and Ray Scheiter, all of Quincy. The lawyer members were Thomas Leeper and James Rapp, both of Quincy, and Judith Lozier of Mason City. Dr. Harry Ruth served as Chairperson of the Committee.

The Eighth Judicial Circuit includes Adams, Brown, Cass, Calhoun, Mason, Menard, Pike, and Schuyler counties.

Posted on March 2, 2016 by Chris Bonjean