Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

Supreme Court Justice Kilbride announces vacancy in 9th Judicial Circuit

Illinois Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride has announced an application process for appointment to a resident Circuit Court vacancy in Fulton County in the Ninth Judicial Circuit.

The vacancy will be created upon Circuit Judge William C. Davis' retirement, effective September 5, 2016. Judge Davis was elected in 2006 and is the resident judge at the Fulton County Courthouse in Lewistown.

Under the Illinois Constitution, judicial vacancies are filled by Supreme Court appointment. Justice Kilbride will make a recommendation to the Court after applicants undergo an evaluation and screening process.

Notice of the vacancy has been posted at courthouses within the Ninth Judicial Circuit, which includes Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, McDonough and Warren counties. The application form and instructions may be obtained by visiting the Supreme Court’s website at and following the instructions on the “Latest News” scroller announcing the Ninth Judicial Circuit vacancy.

Applicants must submit one original and the requisite number of copies of the application and other documents as instructed in the application packet. To be considered, all documents must be received in Justice Kilbride’s office no later than 11:30 a.m. on Friday, August 5, 2016.

An applicant must be admitted to practice law in Illinois and be in good standing with the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission or any other respective disciplinary bodies.

Other qualities an applicant must possess include: a demonstrated reputation for integrity and good character, a demonstrated commitment to equal justice under law, outstanding legal ability and competence, and the appropriate demeanor, character, and temperament.

The successful applicant must be a resident of Fulton County no later than the beginning day of the appointment.

The person appointed to fill the vacancy will serve until December 3, 2018, when the position is filled by the November 2018 election.

Posted on July 6, 2016 by Chris Bonjean