Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

1,374 new attorneys admitted to practice in Illinois

Justices of the Illinois Supreme Court administered the attorney’s oath to 1,374 new attorneys on Thursday, November 10, at five separate locations across the state.

The largest group, 1,121, was admitted in the First Judicial District during two ceremonies at Arie Crown Theater, 2301 S. Lake Shore Drive in Chicago. The ceremonies were at 9:45 a.m. and 12:45 p.m. 

All of the candidates sworn in have passed the Illinois State Bar Examination and a required ethics examination and were certified by the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness. They bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 96,300.

Justice Anne M. Burke presided over the 9:45 a.m. ceremony.

Guests of the morning ceremony included Randy K. Johnson, of the Illinois Board of Admissions; Daniel M. Kotin, president of the Chicago Bar Association; and Matthew Daniels, president of the Chicago Council of Lawyers.

Retired 1st District Appellate Justice Margaret O. Frossard moved for admission of the class. Her daughter, Katherine Yonover, took the attorney's oath during the ceremony.

Justice Mary Jane Theis presided over the 12:45 p.m. ceremony.

Guests of the second First District ceremony included Thomas Clancy, of the Illinois Board of Admissions; Vincent F. Cornelius, president of the Illinois State Bar Association; and Curtis B. Ross, president of the Decalogue Society of Lawyers.

Attorney John G. Sciaccotta, Sr., moved for admission of the class. His son, Michael Sciaccotta, took the attorney's oath during the ceremony.

Kenneth G. Jablonski, clerk of the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission, served as acting marshal at both of the First District ceremonies.

In addition to Chicago, ceremonies were held Thursday in Carbondale, Elgin, Moline and Springfield.

Supreme Court Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier presided over the Fifth Judicial District ceremony at 2 p.m. at the Southern Illinois University School of Law Lesar Auditorium (Room 120), 1150 Douglas Drive, Carbondale.

Appellate Court Justice Michael J. Burke presided over the Second Judicial District ceremony at 10 a.m. at Hemmens Memorial Building in the Elgin Civic Center Plaza, 45 Symphony Way, Elgin.

Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride presided over the Third Judicial District ceremony at 11 a.m. at the I-Wireless Center, 1201 River Drive, Moline.

Supreme Court Justice Rita B. Garman presided over the Fourth Judicial District ceremony, which began at 10 a.m. in the Michael J. Howlett Building Auditorium, Second and Jackson, Springfield.

Posted on November 8, 2016 by Morgan Yingst

Member Comments (1)

The 1st District Ceremony was wonderful; congratulations to my daughter KAITLYN CHIAPPETTA who was admitted yesterday.