Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

Justices to Preside Over Bar Admissions Ceremonies on May 4 in Five Locations

Justices of the Illinois Supreme Court and the Illinois Appellate Court will administer the attorney’s oath to 476 new attorneys on Thursday, May 4, at five separate locations across the state.

The largest group, 327, will be admitted in the First Judicial District during three ceremonies at the James R. Thompson Center Assembly Hall, located at 100 W. Randolph St., in Chicago. The ceremonies will be at 9 a.m., 11:30 a.m., and 2:30 p.m. Media coverage is invited.

All of the candidates set to be sworn in have passed the Illinois State Bar Examination and a required ethics examination and were certified by the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness. They will bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 96,700.

Appellate Justice Margaret S. McBride will preside over the 9 a.m. ceremony.

Guests of the morning ceremony will include Natalie Howse, president of the Cook County Bar Association; and Hariklia Karis, president of the Hellenic Bar Association.

Sharon Strickland will move for admission of the class.

Justice Charles E. Freeman and Appellate Justice Cynthia Y. Cobbs will preside over the 11:30 a.m. ceremony.

Guests of the second First District ceremony will include Hon. Russell Hartigan, president-elect of the Illinois State Bar Association; and Claudia Castro, president of the Hispanic Lawyers Association. Justice Cobbs will move for admission of the class.

Justice Mary Jane Theis will preside over the 2:30 p.m. ceremony.

Guests of the afternoon ceremony will include Daniel M. Kotin, president of the Chicago Bar Association and Frank A. Sommario, president of the Justinian Society. Justice Theis will move for admission of the class.

Kenneth G. Jablonski, clerk of the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission, will serve as acting marshal at all three of the First District ceremonies.

In addition to Chicago, ceremonies will be held Thursday in Collinsville, Elgin, Ottawa and Springfield.

Supreme Court Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier will preside over the Fifth Judicial District ceremony at 2 p.m. at Gateway Center, 1 Gateway Dr. in Collinsville.

Supreme Court Justice Robert R. Thomas will preside over the Second Judicial District ceremony at 10 a.m. at Hemmens Memorial Building in the Elgin Civic Center Plaza, 45 Symphony Way, in Elgin.

Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride will preside over the Third Judicial District ceremony, which will be at 11 a.m. at the Third District Appellate Courthouse, 1004 Columbus St. in Ottawa.

Supreme Court Justice Rita B. Garman will preside over the Fourth Judicial District ceremony, which will begin at 10 a.m. in the Courtroom of the Illinois Supreme Court Building, 200 E. Capitol Ave. in Springfield.

Posted on May 1, 2017 by Sara Anderson
Filed under: