Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

Memorial Service for Illinois Supreme Court Justice John J. Stamos

The Illinois Supreme Court will host a memorial service in honor of the late Justice John J. Stamos at 2 p.m. tomorrow, Wednesday, September 20, at the Illinois Supreme Court at 20 E. Capitol Avenue in Springfield.

The opening and closing remarks will be delivered by Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier. Tributes will be given by Supreme Court Justice Mary Jane Theis; the Honorable Benjamin K. Miller, a former Supreme Court Justice; the Honorable Gino L. DiVito, a former Appellate Justice; Mr. James J. Stamos, Esquire, of Stamos & Trucco LLP, the son of Justice Stamos; and ISBA president, the Honorable Russell W. Hartigan, a former Cook County Circuit Judge.

A native of Chicago's South Side, Stamos served in the U.S. Army Medical Corps during World War II and graduated from the DePaul University College of Law in 1948. Stamos was admitted to the bar in 1949 and served as assistant corporation counsel for the city of Chicago before joining the Cook County State's Attorney's Office in 1954. Stamos served in a number of roles with the state's attorney office and was appointed in 1966 as Cook County state's attorney.

In 1968, Stamos was elected to the First District Appellate Court of Illinois and would serve in that role for 20 years. Stamos was appointed as a Justice to the Illinois Supreme Court in 1988 following the resignation of Justice Seymour Simon. He retired from the bench in 1990 to work with his son James J. Stamos at the Stamos & Trucco law firm where he served as counsel.

Often praised for his integrity and thoughtfulness as a legal professional, outside of the court Stamos enjoyed painting and had been offered a scholarship to the Art Institute of Chicago in his youth.

Among the awards and accolades Stamos received in his career were the Distinguished Service Award from the National District Attorneys Association, the Professional Achievement Award from the Illinois State’s Attorneys Association, and the Liberty Bell Award from the Federal Bar Association.

Posted on September 19, 2017 by Sara Anderson