Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter


Illinois Bar Foundation Elects New Officers for 2018-19

Posted on August 22, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

The Illinois Bar Foundation (IBF) has elected its officers for the organization’s 2017-18 fiscal year. They are: Timothy W. Kelly, principal of Kelly Law Offices, president; Deane B. Brown, partner at Hughes Socol Piers Resnik Dym, first vice president; and William A. Peithmann, principal of The Peithmann Law Office, second vice president. Lisa M. Nyuli, partner at Ariano Hardy Ritt Nyuli Richmond Lytle & Goettel P.C. was elected third vice president. Mark L. Karno, principal of Mark L. Karno & Associates, L.L.C., was elected as treasurer and Lauren Tuckey Murray, of counsel at Bellows Law Group, was elected as secretary.

2018 Legislative Update

Posted on August 22, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

The state legislature earlier this year sent a number of measures to Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner. The ISBA has provided an update on the status of bills that are of interest to members. 

ISBA Presidential Commendations Awarded to Three Attorneys

Posted on July 24, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

Catherine Brukalo and Sharon L. Eiseman have received Presidential Commendations from the Illinois State Bar Association.

ISBA Immediate Past President Hon. Russell W. Hartigan (ret.) presented the awards July 24 in Chicago. 

A third recipient, Jessica M. Fangman, will receive her Presidential Commendation at a later date.

ISBA Wins Summary Judgment in Lawsuit against IDFPR

Posted on July 24, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

The Cook County Circuit Court on June 20 issued an order finding that the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) cannot prosecute Illinois property tax attorneys on charges they offered appraisal services without a proper state license when they argue valuations before tax assessment appeal tribunals.

The deadline for the state to file an appeal was July 20. No appeal was filed.

ISBA Board Vacancies Filled at Board of Governors Meeting

Posted on July 20, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

The ISBA Board of Governors met on Friday, July 20. At the meeting, the Board filled the Area IV (Circuits 10, 14, and 15) and Under 37 in Cook County seats on the Board of Governors. The results of the elections to fill these leadership positions are below.

Board of Governors

  • Area IV (Circuits 10, 14, & 15): Michael McCuskey, Lacon
  • Under 37 in Cook County: Daniel Saeedi, Chicago


Illinois Bar Foundation Distributes ‘Access to Justice' Grants to 33 Illinois Legal Aid Non-Profits

Posted on July 18, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

The Illinois Bar Foundation (IBF) has announced the recipients of its “Access to Justice” grants, which will be distributed to nonprofit legal aid organizations statewide.

The 2018 Illinois Bar Foundation grant recipients are as follows:

Pinckneyville Police Officer Receives Law Enforcement Award from Illinois State Bar Association

Posted on July 18, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

Pinckneyville Police Officer James Holder received a Law Enforcement Award from the Illinois State Bar Association (ISBA) on July 17 during a Pinckneyville Police Pension Board meeting. ISBA 2nd Vice President Dennis Orsey presented the award.

The Law Enforcement Award recognizes sworn law enforcement officers for conduct that promotes justice and to distinguish those individuals whose service to the public brings honor and respect to the entire criminal justice system. 

Richard Zuckerman Installed as President of the Peoria County Bar Association

Posted on July 16, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

Richard Zuckerman, a former member of the ISBA Board of Governors and a long-standing, active member of the ISBA Family Law Section, was installed as president of the Peoria County Bar Association on July 9, 2018. Pictured at the ceremony are ISBA 3rd Vice President Anna Krolikowska, Mr. Zuckerman, Peoria County Bar Association Immediate Past President Michele Miller, ISBA 2nd Vice President Dennis Orsey, ISBA President Elect David Sosin, and ISBA President James McCluskey.

Famous Portrait of Abraham Lincoln Unveiled at Jersey County Courthouse

Posted on July 11, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

The Jersey County Courthouse received a reproduction of a famous Abraham Lincoln photograph today.

The ceremony was part of a statewide campaign to place a framed copy of the famed photograph in a courthouse in each of Illinois’ 102 counties in commemoration of the state’s bicentennial.

The photograph was taken in Springfield by well-known photographer Alexander Hesler on June 3, 1860, for Lincoln’s 1860 presidential campaign. Printed on canvas, the image of the beardless Lincoln is encased in a richly stained wood frame and measures 30-inches wide by 40-inches tall.

ISBA Mutual Founders Celebrate 30th Anniversary of Company’s Incorporation

Posted on July 11, 2018 by Rhys Saunders

ISBA Mutual Chair Paula Holderman and President/CEO Jeff Strand congratulate the two surviving ISBA Mutual “founders,” Richard L. Thies, of Urbana, and Donald C. Schiller, of Chicago, on the 30th anniversary of the incorporation of the company.  The third “founder,” Jerome Mirza, died in 2007. All three were ISBA presidents. ISBA Mutual has grown to nearly 7,700 insured lawyers and $80 million in admitted assets.