Media Law Handbook

The structure of the Illinois court system is found in the Illinois Constitution. In 1964, the voters approved substantial changes to the Judicial Article of the Constitution, and most of those changes were carried over in the new Constitution, adopted in 1970. The 1964 Article established a tripartite system, consisting of the Supreme Court, an Appellate Court in each of five districts, and circuit courts.

Read More