About the ISBA


  • ISBA Laureate Award
    The ISBA's Academy of Illinois Lawyers designates as Laureates those practitioners deemed to exemplify the highest ideals of the profession. Nominations are closed.
  • Law Enforcement Award
    The Law Enforcement Award was created to recognize sworn law enforcement officers for conduct that promotes justice and to distinguish those individuals whose service to the public brings honor and respect to the entire criminal justice system. The award is given sparingly to recognize those who truly excel in the field of law enforcement. Nominations are closed.
  • Human Rights Section Gertz Award
    The Gertz Award recognizes long-standing, continuing and exceptional commitment by an individual or an organization to the protection or advancement of Human Rights. Nominations are closed.
  • John C. McAndrews Pro Bono Service Award
    The award is named in memory of Rock Island attorney John McAndrews, who chaired the ISBA Committee on Delivery of Legal Services and is awarded to individual lawyers, law firms and corporate law departments, and bar associations. Nominations are closed.
  • The Joseph R. Bartylak Memorial Legal Services Award
    This award is named in memory of legal services attorney Joseph R. Bartylak to annually honor his extraordinary commitment and dedication to civil legal services and his outstanding service to Illinois’ vulnerable and low-income population. Nominations are closed.
  • Austin Fleming Newsletter Editors Award
    This award honors outstanding editors or past editors of Association newsletters. It is based on the concept of meritorious service to the Association and is not necessarily to be given every year. Nominations are closed.
  • Matthew Maloney Tradition of Excellence Award
    The award is named in memory of Princeton attorney Matthew Maloney, who was a past chair of the ISBA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Section Council and is awarded to individual lawyers who are in a general solo or small firm practice. Nominations are closed.
  • Diversity Leadership Award
    The Diversity Leadership Award recognizes long standing, continuing and exceptional commitment by an individual or an organization to the critical importance of diversity within the Illinois legal community, its judiciary and within the Illinois State Bar Association. Nominations are closed.
  • Community Leadership Award
    Given by the ISBA’s Committee on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (SOGI), the honor recognizes individuals for efforts to foster understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and their issues of concern. Nominations are closed.
  • Young Lawyer of the Year Award
    The ISBA selects two outstanding young lawyers each year for the award. Nominations are closed.
  • Law Student Division Public Service Award
    Awarded annually to a law student participating in activities that enhance professional responsibility and provide service to the public. Nominations are closed.
  • Board of Governors Award
    The award is given to ISBA members for significant service to the profession and the public.