Member Groups

Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity

The mission of ISBA Standing Committee on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity

  • To educate attorneys, judges, the Association, and members of the general public about the law as it relates to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender ("LGBT") persons;
  • to promote the fair and equal treatment of LGBT individuals by identifying the types of discrimination that LGBT persons experience and pursuing appropriate forms of education, legislation, and advocacy to eliminate such discrimination; and
  • to further the professional development of LGBT attorneys and law students, as well as practitioners who serve LGBT clients, by creating programming, mentoring opportunities, and other resources that support their professional needs and interests.


View SOGI news at Illinois Lawyer Now.


Live Safe: Your ID Documentation and Records After Gender Transitioning Pamphlet

Tax Information

IRS FAQ for Same Sex Married Couples

Illinois Law Consumer Videos

Videos produced in cooperation with ISBA Sections and Committees. See all Illinois Law videos on YouTube.

Committee Roster

  • Carol L. Jones, Jill M Metz & Associates, Chicago, Chair
  • Brian E. Fliflet, Illinois Department of Revenue, Chicago, Vice-Chair
  • Kathryn E. Eisenhart, Eisenhart Law Office, Springfield, Secretary
  • David A. Weder, Lewis Rice LLC, Edwardsville, Ex-Officio
  • Deidre Baumann, Baumann & Shuldiner, Chicago, Member
  • Norden S. Gilbert, DeKalb, Member
  • Michael K. Goldberg, Goldberg Law Group, Chicago, Member
  • Hon. Nancy J. Katz, JAMS, Chicago, Member
  • Ronald S. Langacker, Langacker Law, Urbana, Member
  • Mary L. Milano, IL Guardianship & Advocacy Commission, Chicago, Member
  • Michael S. Morthland, Featherstun Gaumer Postlewait Stocks Flynn & Hubbard, Decatur, Member
  • Lauren J. Pashayan, Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation, Springfield, Member
  • Heidi E. Ramos, SIU School Of Law, Murphysboro, Member
  • Tony E. Rothert, ACLU of Missouri Foundation, Edwardsville, Member
  • Jennifer A. Shaw, The Shaw Law Group PC, Edwardsville, Member/CLE Coordinator
  • Mario Sullivan, Johnson & Sullivan Ltd, CHICAGO, Member
  • Melissa L. Burkholder, Illinois State Bar Association, Chicago, Staff Liaison
  • Annemarie E. Kill, Avery | Kill, LLC, Chicago, CLE Committee Liaison