Member Groups

The Catalyst
The newsletter of the ISBA’s Standing Committee on Women and the Law

March 2006, vol. 11, no. 3

Letter from the Chair

Thanks to all of you who have participated in our committee events thus far this year! Due to an active, dedicated committee, we have surpassed our expectations (certainly my expectations). As a new approach this year, we have invited a guest speaker to our business meetings. Dan Rosman, Assistant General Counsel for the State’s Department of Human Services and a member of the Task Force on Genetics and Human Reproduction, spoke to us last fall on the task force’s goals and objectives this year. Michele Latz, Director of the State’s Department of Financial and Professional Regulation spoke to us on the Payday Loan Reform Act, which passage will surely assist women throughout the State of Illinois. Last month, Lori Levin, Executive Director of the State’s Criminal Justice Information Authority, spoke to us on studies concerning incarcerated women and girls. I extend an invitation to those of you interested in attending our business meetings. 

Last October, ISBA President Elect Irene Bahr, together with Board Member Michele Jochner and Past President Thomas Clancy, participated in a panel discussion at the ISBA on “How to get elected to ISBA Offices.” This luncheon seminar at the ISBA CRO was fascinating and we sincerely appreciate the participation of Irene, Michele and Tom.

Our next meeting will take place in Peoria on Saturday, April 22, 2006. Please watch for details on a reception for those in the Peoria area legal community, sponsored by the Women and the Law Committee on Friday, April 21, 2006, in Peoria. 

Other areas of contribution by our committee include commenting on proposed and pending legislation, producing high-quality newsletters, proposing a seminar on issues surrounding domestic violence, suggesting cable television programs and more. Please feel free to contact me if you or your colleagues find an area that you would like to see addressed by our committee.


Meredith E. Ritchie, Chair