Illinois Law Update:
New offenses and increased fines for unauthorized use of disability decals or license plates. PA 097-0844
(Effective January 1, 2013)
The law on use of disability license plates, decals, and devices has been expanded to explicitly provide for items issued to now-deceased individuals. Drivers are now prohibited from using plates, decals, or devices issued to individuals who are now deceased to exercise the privileges granted by these items under the Illinois Vehicle Code.
Additionally, fines for violations in this area are increased. The fines for unauthorized plate, decal, or device holders who exercise associated privileges under the Code are now fined $1,000 for a second or subsequent offense. Violators of the new provisions regarding deceased individuals are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and subject to a $2,500 fine.