For the Public

State Bar's Academy of Illinois Lawyers To Induct Seven New Laureates

Chris Ruys Communications, Inc.
Chris Ruys
(312) 337-7746 or
For Immediate Release: 
March 29, 2011
CHICAGO, IL – The Illinois State Bar Association’s (ISBA) Academy of Illinois Lawyers will induct its eleventh class of Laureates during a luncheon on Tuesday, April 26, 2011, at The Standard Club, 320 S. Plymouth Court, in Chicago.
The April 26 induction will begin with a reception at 11:30 a.m., followed by the luncheon at 12:15 p.m. Reservations are $65 per person and can be made by calling JoAnn Hibbs at the ISBA at 1-800-252-8908.
The 2011 Class of Laureates, who will be recognized during a ceremony conducted by John G. O’Brien of Arlington Heights, chancellor of the Academy Board of Regents, will bring the total to 102 distinguished Illinois attorneys to be so honored.
The Academy was established in 1999 to celebrate excellence in the practice of law by individuals who maintain the highest standards of professional and public service. The 2011 class, nominated by their peers in the profession, includes:
  • Peter J. Birnbaum, Chicago, President and CEO of Attorneys’ Title Guaranty Fund, Inc.
  • Gino L. DiVito, Chicago, Partner in Tabet DiVito & Rothstein LLC
  • William V. Johnson, Chicago, President of Johnson & Bell, Ltd.
  • Rosalyn B. Kaplan (posthumous), Chicago, former Chief, Civil Appeals and Ancillary Litigation Division of the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission
  • John B. Kincaid, Wheaton, Partner in Mirabella, Kincaid, Frederick & Mirabella, LLC
  • Leo H. Konzen, Granite City, Partner in Lueders, Robertson & Konzen
  • David B. Sosin, Orland Park, Partner in Sosin Arnold & Leibforth, Ltd.
“The Academy honors lawyers who have established and maintained the highest principles of the profession as demonstrated by their pervasive record of service to the law and the public,” said Mark D. Hassakis, ISBA president.
The Laureates are selected by the Board of Regents from submitted nominations. To be eligible, candidates must have practiced law primarily in Illinois for at least 25 years, must be a member of the Illinois State Bar Association, and must have demonstrated a commitment to the highest principles of the legal profession and to serving the public.
The 33,000-member ISBA, with offices in Springfield and Chicago, provides professional services to Illinois lawyers, and education and services to the public.
Note: Previous years’ Laureates are profiled at

# # #