Chicago Lawyers Hockey Team admitted to U.S. Supreme Court - then wins 4th Masters Ice Hockey Championship

On March 21, 2011, sponsored by Most Rev. Thomas J. Paprocki and Kent D. Sinson, certain members of the Chicago Lawyers Hockey team were admitted in open court to the Bar of the Supreme Court of the United States. Those photographed in the Court’s East Conference Room prior to admission are (left to right): Lowell D. Snorf, III, Michael B. Goldberg, Kent D. Sinson, Ronald Kalish, Most Rev. Thomas J. Paprocki, Kevin M. Magnuson, David M. Goldman, Steven L. Demitro (Captain) and David Vander Ploeg. According to Supreme Court Clerk, William K. Suter, the March 21, 2011 open admission was the first time any lawyers hockey team was admitted in open court. Following the March 21 admission, on March 24 the Lawyers hockey team returned to Chicago’s McFetrich Ice Arena and captured their fourth consecutive Masters Hockey league championship, defeating the Chicago Democrats hockey team, 4-3. Several members of the lawyers hockey team played NCAA Division I hockey and/or semi professional hockey; some lawyers have been on the team for 20 years. The lawyers hockey team plays in the Masters Hockey League out of Chicago’s McFetridge Sports Center. Other members of the Lawyers hockey team are: Anthony J. Aiello, James R. Foley, Thaddeus S. Machnik, John Joseph Muldoon, III, Michael B. Quigley, Scott R. Sinson and Patrick D. Thompson. Non-lawyer team members include: John Aiello, Nicholas Labun and Chicago newscasters Ravi Baichwal and Ryan Chiaverini. Click here to view photos from these events For more information on the team visit the website
Posted on April 14, 2011 by Chris Bonjean

Login to post comments