Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter


ISBA Mutual Giving Circle

Posted on July 24, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

The ISBA Mutual Insurance Company has partnered with the Illinois Bar Foundation to create the ISBA Mutual Giving Circle. This program allows ISBA Mutual policyholders to donate all or part of their dividend to support the mission of the IBF. For more information on joining the ISBA Mutual Giving Circle, contact the Illinois Bar Foundation at (312) 726-6072 or visit the IBF online.

Aurora Police Officer Receives Law Enforcement Award from Illinois State Bar Association

Posted on July 24, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

Aurora Police Officer Douglas Rashkow received a Law Enforcement Award from the Illinois State Bar Association (ISBA) on July 23 during an Aurora City Council meeting. ISBA 3rd Vice President Rory Weiler presented the award.

The Law Enforcement Award recognizes sworn law enforcement officers for conduct that promotes justice and to distinguish those individuals whose service to the public brings honor and respect to the entire criminal justice system. 

Illinois Bar Foundation Distributes ‘Access to Justice' Grants to Illinois Legal Aid Nonprofits

Posted on July 23, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

The Illinois Bar Foundation (IBF) has announced the recipients of its “Access to Justice” grants, which will be distributed to nonprofit legal aid organizations statewide.

The 2019 Illinois Bar Foundation grant recipients are as follows:

ISBA Board Vacancies Filled at Board of Governors Meeting

Posted on July 19, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

The ISBA Board of Governors met on Friday, July 19. At the meeting, the Board filled the Area III (Circuits 12, 13, 16, and 21) and Area IV (Circuits 10, 14, and 15) seats on the Board of Governors. The results of the elections to fill these leadership positions are below.

Board of Governors

ISBA President David Sosin Speaks to Media about Chicago Mayor’s Proposal for Tax on Professional Services

Posted on July 17, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

ISBA President David Sosin has spoken publicly to media outlets during the past three weeks regarding Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot’s proposal for the city to implement a tax on professional services.

Lightfoot has said she would like to get state approval for Chicago to impose a service tax on professions such as accounting and legal services. Although there are no details about the proposal, the ISBA is opposed to such a tax.

Illinois Bar Foundation Elects New Officers for 2019-20

Posted on July 11, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

The Illinois Bar Foundation (IBF) has elected its officers for the organization’s 2019-20 fiscal year. They are: Deane B. Brown, shareholder at Hughes Socol Piers Resnik Dym, Ltd., president; William A. Peithmann, principal of The Peithmann Law Office, first vice president; and Lisa M. Nyuli, partner at Ariano Hardy Ritt Nyuli Richmond Lytle & Goettel P.C., second vice president. Sandra Crawford, principal of Law Crawford, P.C., was elected third vice president. Mark L. Karno, principal of Mark L. Karno & Associates, L.L.C., was elected as treasurer and Lauren Tuckey Murray, attorney at Bellows Law Group, was elected as secretary.

ISBA Offices to Close July 4-5

Posted on June 27, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

The ISBA Springfield and Chicago offices will be closed for the holiday beginning Thursday, July 4. They will reopen on Monday, July 8. During this time, members can expect the following:

  • E-Clips will not be delivered for the duration of this period.
  • The Bar News will not be delivered on Thursday, July 4. 

All business and e-newsletter distribution will resume as usual on Monday, July 8. 

2019 Annual Meeting Highlights

Posted on June 17, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

The 143rd Annual Meeting was held last week, June 13-15, at the Grand Geneva Resort & Spa in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. Attendees celebrated the accomplishments of the past year, planned for the year ahead, expanded their professional networks, and earned CLE credit. During section meetings and at the Assembly meeting, various members of the ISBA community were recognized with awards. At the Friday reception and program, David Sosin was installed as ISBA president for 2019-20. 

ISBA 2019 Annual Meeting Membership Booth and Vendor Contest Winners Announced

Posted on June 14, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

Congratulations to the winners of the ISBA 2019 Annual Meeting membership booth and vendor contest. Prizes may be collected at the registration area.

Winners are:

  • ISBA Wine Basket – Joel Chupack
  • ISBA Logo Gift Basket – Jessica Kalal
  • ISBA Logo Gift Basket – Deane Brown
  • Go Next Gift Card – Emma Dorantes
  • Attorneys’ Title Guarantee Fund, Inc. Cup Set – Daniel Felix, Mark Hassakis, and Dana Considine  

Notice of Board of Governors Vacancies

Posted on June 13, 2019 by Rhys Saunders

At its meeting on July 19, the ISBA Board of Governors will fill the following vacant seats on the Board:

          1.       Area III – 12th, 13th, 16th, 21st, and 23rd Circuits;

          2.       Area IV – 10th, 14th, and 15th Circuits.

Members who fill the vacancies must have their ISBA voting addresses in the appropriate Board electoral area. Terms of the seats are for one year beginning in July 2019 and ending in June 2020.