The Bar News

Cook County Judge Diane Shelley to head Illinois Judicial Council

Judges Diane M. Shelley and Leonard Murray
ISBA's Joyce Williams to receive Chairperson's Award Cook County Judge Diane M. Shelley will be installed as chair of the Illinois Judicial Council at the organization’s 29th annual Installation and Awards Ceremony on Saturday, July 16, at the historic Parkway Ballroom, 45th and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, in Chicago. Chicago television anchor Diann Burns will act as Mistress of Ceremonies, and Cook County Circuit Court Chief Judge Timothy C. Evans will handle the swearing-in of new officers. Judge Shelley will succeed Judge Leonard Murray as Chair of the Council. Founded in 1982, the Illinois Judicial Council addresses problems common to black judges in Illinois and strives to enhance the image of the judiciary by serving as a collective voice in strong support of its members. This year’s ceremony will feature a tribute to the founders of the Council, including current members Judge Everette A. Braden (Ret.); Judges Sophia Hall; Blanche Manning; and, Judge Albert S. Porter (Ret.). Justice Marcus R. Salone of the Illinois Appellate Court First District will receive the Kenneth E. Wilson Memorial Award and Chairperson’s Awards will be presented to: Samuel Akainyah, Professor, Kenney King College, and Artist; Judge Patricia Banks, Presiding Judge, Elder Law and Remedies, Circuit Court of Cook County; Deloris Jordan, Founder, James J. Jordan Foundation; Herbert Rodgers Kent, V-103 Radio Personality and member Chicago Radio Hall of Fame; Sara Sonet, Research Librarian, United States Supreme Court; Brenda Thompson, Illinois Judicial Council Executive Assistant; and Joyce Williams, Chicago Office Coordinator, Illinois State Bar Association. Scholarships will be awarded to five law students by the charitable arm of the Council, the Illinois Judicial Council Foundation. The evening includes a tour of the Chicago Defender newspaper offices and a complimentary cocktail reception beginning at 5:00 p.m. with dinner at 6:30 p.m. followed by dancing. Tickets are $100.00 per person.
Posted on July 14, 2011 by Chris Bonjean
Filed under: 

Login to post comments