The Bar News

Finson appointed circuit judge in 6th Circuit

The Illinois Supreme Court announced Tuesday the appointment of Wm. Hugh Finson, a longtime Monticello attorney and public servant as a resident circuit judge in the Sixth Judicial Circuit.

Mr. Finson was appointed to fill the Circuit Court vacancy created by the death of longtime Piatt County Chief Judge John P. Shonkwiler. The appointment is effective September 4, 2012 and will expire December 1, 2014.

Supreme Court Justice Rita B. Garman recommended the appointment to the Supreme Court after a review process by a special citizen screening committee.

"I am flattered, humbled and grateful to the Supreme Court and Justice Garman for their confidence in me by their appointment," Mr. Finson said. "I am eager to serve the people of Piatt County on the bench, and looking forward to starting work."

Mr. Finson graduated from DePauw University with a degree in history. He received his juris doctor degree from the University of Illinois College of Law in 1972. After graduation, Mr. Finson started his legal career as an associate with Arnold Sievers Law Office in Monticello engaging in the general practice of law. From 1973-1975, he was partner with the Monticello firm of Eaton & Finson Law Office. Before his appointment to the bench, Mr. Finson has worked since 1975 as sole practitioner engaged in general practice with Finson Law Office in Monticello.

From 1975 to 1988, Mr. Finson served as Piatt County state’s attorney. He also served as Piatt County public defender from 1988 to 1996.

A resident of Monticello, Mr. Finson is married with four children.

Justice Garman’s special screening committee, which reviewed the candidates, consisted of four non-lawyers and three lawyers.

The non-lawyer members were: Chairperson Dr. Lawrence Jeckel, M.D. of Champaign; Cerro Gordo resident Dan Mogged and Monticello residents Kelly Finet and Ed Williams.

The lawyer members of the committee were the Hon. Frank Lincoln (retired) of Tuscola, Glenn Stanko of Champaign and William Tracy II of Monticello.

The Sixth Judicial Circuit is comprised of six counties: Champaign, DeWitt, Douglas, Macon, Moultrie and Piatt.

Posted on July 25, 2012 by Chris Bonjean

Login to post comments