The Bar News

Over 2,100 new lawyers sworn-in at 5 admission ceremonies

More than 2,100 new attorneys will be admitted to practice in Illinois on Thursday, November 1 with Justices of the Illinois Supreme Court presiding and administering the attorney’s oath at five separate locations.

All of the candidates have passed the Illinois state bar examination and an ethics examination, and have been certified by the Committee on Character and Fitness.

The largest group, 1,682, will be admitted in the First Judicial District during two ceremonies Thursday starting at 10 a.m. and at 1:30 p.m. at the Arie Crown Theater. Illinois Supreme Court Justice Charles E. Freeman will preside over both ceremonies, with Justices Anne M. Burke and Mary Jane Theis participating during both ceremonies.

During the morning ceremony, Chicago attorney Robert A. Clifford will make the motion to admit the class.

Chicago attorneys Michael D. Monico and Mary Robinson will second the motion to admit the class. Other scheduled speakers for the morning ceremony include Cook County Bar Association President John A. Fairman and Karina Zabicki DeHayes, president of the Women's Bar Association of Illinois.

During the afternoon ceremony, retired Illinois Appellate Justice Alan J. Greiman will make the motion to admit the class.

Chicago attorney Robert A. Fisher will second the motion to admit the class. Other scheduled speakers for the afternoon ceremony include Umberto S. Davi, third vice-president of the Illinois State Bar Association and Julie A. Bauer, first vice-president of the Seventh Circuit Bar Association.

Representatives from the Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar who will attend the morning and afternoon ceremonies are James R. Carroll and Lawrence N. Hill, respectively.

The 2,125 men and women were certified as candidates and will be sworn in as Illinois attorneys Thursday at ceremonies in the five Supreme Court judicial districts.

Here are the time and locations of Thursday’s ceremonies:

  • Supreme Court Chief Justice Thomas L. Kilbride will preside over the Third Judicial District ceremony, 11 a.m., Holiday Inn and Conference Center, 226 17th Street, Rock Island.
  • Supreme Court Justice Robert R. Thomas will preside over the Second Judicial District ceremony, 10 a.m., Hemmens Memorial Building, Elgin Civic Center Plaza, 150 Dexter Court, Elgin.
  • Supreme Court Justice Rita B. Garman will preside over the Fourth Judicial District ceremony, 10 a.m., Hoogland Center for the Arts, 420 S. 6th Street, Springfield.
  • Supreme Court Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier will preside over the Fifth Judicial District ceremony, 2 p.m., Gateway Convention Center, near Interstates 55/70 & Route 157, Collinsville.

The new attorneys will bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 91,600.

Posted on November 1, 2012 by Chris Bonjean
Filed under: 

Login to post comments