The Bar News

Springfield lawyer wins $2,000 Lincoln Award writing prize

Jill Ausdenmoore of Springfield, a research staff attorney with the Illinois Appellate Court, Fourth District, is the first place winner in the ISBA’s 2013 Lincoln Award Legal Writing Contest. Ausdenmoore received a cash award of $2,000, and her article, "Arguing Witness Credibility at Closing after People v. Adams," will appear in the February Illinois Bar Journal. The contest is sponsored by the ISBA Young Lawyers Division and is open to all YLD members.

Second place winners are Kelly Greco and Stephanie Hammer, Springfield, who wrote "The Effects of Public Act 97-0848 on Post-Judgment Proceedings in Illinois." Third place goes to Geoffrey Burkhart, Chicago, for "A Guide to the Confrontation Clause." The second place winners split a $1,000 prize, and the third place winner received $500.

A record 38 manuscripts were entered in the 2013 contest. The contest judges were Justice Bertina E. Lampkin of the Illinois Appellate Court, First District; DuPage County Circuit Court Judge Brian R. McKillip; Daniel Wurl of Livingston, Barger, Brandt & Schroeder in Champaign; Sean Brady of Mahoney, Silverman & Cross, LLC in Joliet; and Chicago lawyer Samuel Levine, a partner in the litigation and real estate groups of Arnstein & Lehr LLP.


Posted on December 19, 2012 by Mark S. Mathewson

Login to post comments