Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

Chief Justice Garman announces applicants, screening committee for 7th Circuit vacancy

Illinois Supreme Court Chief Justice Rita B. Garman announced Wednesday the formation of a judicial screening committee for the Seventh Judicial Circuit.

Chief Justice Garman established the screening committee to assess the qualifications of those persons who have applied for appointment to the at-large Circuit Court vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Patrick J. Londrigan on December 8, 2014. Under the Illinois Constitution, the Supreme Court holds the authority to fill interim judicial vacancies until the next General Election.

After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed each of the applicants, it will report its findings to Chief Justice Garman, who will then make a recommendation to the Supreme Court from among those applicants submitting their credentials to the committee. The person appointed to fill the vacancy will serve until December 5, 2016, when the position will be filled by the 2016 General Election.

The screening committee consists of seven persons who reside in the Seventh Judicial Circuit. Four of the committee members are non-lawyers and three are lawyers.

The non-lawyer members of the committee are: Jacksonville resident Jim Bruner; Springfield residents Jennifer Gill and Terry Martin; and Carlinville resident Richard Schien.

The lawyer members of the committee are Carl Kasten of Carlinville, and Claire Manning and Peggy Ryan, both of Springfield.

Terry Martin will serve as chairperson of the committee.

Applicants who are considered for appointment to the judgeship and will be screened by the committee are: Thomas Denby of Carlinville; Robert L. Duckels of St. Louis; Scott C. Helmholz of Springfield; Matthew J. Goetten of Springfield; William C. Henry of New Berlin; Timothy J. Londrigan of Springfield; Vincent W. Moreth of Carlinville; Kevin A. Polo of Gillespie; David R. Reid of Springfield; Val C. Simhauser of Springfield; Associate Judge April G. Troemper of Springfield; Rick M. Verticchio of Gillespie; Daniel K. Wright of Springfield; and Philip D. Wynn of Carlinville.

Members of the public are invited to submit comments concerning the applicants by writing to: Seventh Judicial Circuit Screening Committee, Peggy Ryan, secretary, P.O. Box 5131, Springfield, IL 62705. Comments should be received by the committee before Tuesday, February 17, 2015. All comments will be held in the strictest confidence by the committee and the Court.

The Seventh Judicial Circuit includes Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Morgan, Sangamon, and Scott counties.

Posted on January 21, 2015 by Chris Bonjean