Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

Illinois Supreme Court Hosts "Law School for Legislators"

The Illinois Supreme Court hosted 'Law School for Legislators' on May 9, 2017, with all seven Supreme Court Justices and leadership and new members of the Illinois House of Representatives and Senate in attendance.

The event, held at the Illinois Supreme Court Building in Springfield, was intended to familiarize the legislative branch with court operations and to foster dialogue of communication, cooperation and coordination between the legislative and judicial branches.

Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier, Justice Rita B. Garman, AOIC Director Michael J. Tardy addressed the attendees and spoke on topics including the role of the Supreme Court and its relation to the legislative branch and how cases are initiated and proceed through the Illinois Courts. The Justices took comments and questions at a reception following the program.

The legislators who attended were Senate President John Cullerton, Senator Tom Rooney, Representative Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Rep. Randy Frese, Rep. LaToya Greenwood, Rep Brad Halbrook, Rep. Michael Halpin, Rep. Theresa Mah, Rep. David Olsen,  Rep. Lindsay Parkhurst, Rep. Dave Severin and Rep. Daniel Swanson.

Pictured from left to right: Sen. Tom Rooney, Rep. Daniel Swanson, Rep. Randy Frese, Rep Theresa Mah, Rep. Michael Halpin, Justice Anne Burke, Rep. Lindsay Parkhurst, Rep. David Olsen, Justice Thomas Kilbride, Justice Charles Freeman, Senate President John Cullerton, Chief Justice Lloyd Karmeier, Justice Robert Thomas, Justice Rita Garman, Justice Mary Jane Theis, Rep Brad Halbrook, Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Rep. LaToya Greenwood and Rep. Dave Severin.

Posted on May 11, 2017 by Sara Anderson