Justice Lisa Holder White to Administer Oath to New Attorneys in Springfield

Justice Lisa Holder White of the Illinois Supreme Court will administer the attorney’s oath to 55 new lawyers on Thursday, November 9, in the Fourth Judicial District.

The group is among 1,360 individuals who will be sworn in and admitted to the practice of law in Illinois during bar admission ceremonies held in the state’s five Supreme Court judicial districts.

The bar admission ceremony in the Fourth Judicial District will begin at 10:00 a.m. at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library Multi-Purpose Room at 112 N. 6th St. in Springfield.

Justice Holder White will preside over the ceremony.

The keynote speaker for the ceremony will be Fourth District Appellate Justice Eugene Doherty. Also speaking will be John Kim of the Commission on Professionalism and Amanda Highlander of the Illinois State Bar Association Board of Governors.

Guests of the Illinois Supreme Court will include Fourth District Appellate Court Presiding Justice Craig DeArmond, 10th Circuit Chief Judge Katherine Gorman, 17th Circuit Chief Judge John Lowry, 7th Circuit Chief Judge Christopher Reif, and Circuit Judge Don Knapp of McLean County.

Fourth District Appellate Justice Amy Lannerd will make the motion to admit the class and attorney Alan Schrock, whose son will be taking the attorney’s oath during the ceremony, will second the motion.

Justice Holder White will rule on the motion, administer the attorney’s oath, and make remarks. A reception hosted by the Illinois State Bar Association will follow the ceremony.

All of the candidates have passed the Illinois State Bar Examination and a required ethics examination and were certified by the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness.

The new attorneys sworn in at the November 9 bar admission ceremonies will bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 98,000. In addition to Springfield, ceremonies will be held Thursday in Chicago, Elgin, Joliet, Carbondale, and Champaign.

The Fourth Judicial District is composed of 41 counties: Adams, Boone, Brown, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Knox, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macoupin, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Winnebago, and Woodford.

Posted on November 6, 2023 by Celeste Antoinette Niemann

Login to post comments