Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

Madison County Bar Association

Madison County Bar Association elects officers at annual meeting

Posted on May 29, 2013 by Chris Bonjean

Front row: Ellar Duff, 2nd VP; Angela Donohoo, Past President            Back row: David Jones, President; David Weder, Corresponding Secretary; Eric Carlson, Treasurer; Troy Walton, Corresponding SecretaryThe Madison County Bar Association elected officers at its annual meeting held at the Back Porch in Grantfork Illinois on May 23, 2013.  Officers for the 2013/2014 year are: President: David Jones of Beatty, Motil & Jones, Glen Carbon; 1st Vice President: Chris Threlkeld of Lucco, Brown, Threlkeld & Dawson LLC, Edwardsville; 2nd Vice President: Judge Ellar Duff (Ret.); Treasurer: Eric Carlson from Byron, Carlson, Petri & Kalb LLC, Edwardsville; Recording Secretary: Troy Walton of Schoen Walton Telken & Foster, LLC, East St. Louis; and David Weder of Lewis, Rice & Fingersh, L.C.

Outgoing President Angela Donohoo of Levo-Donohoo in Troy received a plaque in recognition of her efforts and accomplishments on behalf of the MCBA during the 2012/2013 years.

Madison County Bar Association kicks off Pro Bono Week with luncheon

Posted on October 26, 2011 by Chris Bonjean

On hand for the Madison County Bar Association's Pro Bono Luncheon were (from left) Judge Barbara Crowder, Justice Lloyd Karmeier, Lois Wood, Joan Spiegel, Ron Foster and Judge Ann CallisOne hundred fifty members of the Madison County Bar were honored Tuesday at a Pro Bono Luncheon in Edwardsville sponsored by Heyl, Royster, The Simmons Firm, and the Madison County Bar Association. Supreme Court Justice Lloyd Karmeier, 3rd Circuit Chief Judge Ann Callis, and 3rd Circuit Judge Barbara Crowder praised the volunteers for accepting pro bono cases through the Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation.
Among volunteers were Billie Johnson of Johnson and Anderson in Edwardsville, Amy Garrett of The Simmons Firm, and Bonnie Levo of Levo and Donahoo in Troy, joined by Joan Spiegel, pro bono coordinator of Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance, Madison County Bar President Ron Foster, and Judge Crowder.
The event was held to coincide with national Pro Bono Week activities.

Major Sarah Smith presents flag to Madison County lawyers

Posted on March 1, 2010 by Chris Bonjean
Major Sarah Smith presents a flag that flew in Afghanistan to Madison County Bar Association President Elizabeth Levy in appreciation of the support she received during her deployment.
Major Sarah D. Smith presented a flag that was flown in Kabul, Afghanistan in honor of the lawyers of the Madison County Bar Association to President Elizabeth Levy at the February meeting of the MCBA. The flag was flown over the Camp Phoenix Compound on Law Day (May 1) 2009 in appreciation for all the e-mails, care packages and support Major Smith received from the members of the Madison County Bar Association during her deployment both in Kosovo and in Afghanistan. The certificate accompanying the flag was signed by the Commanding General, General Steven Huber, and by the Command Sergeant Major of the 33rd Infantry Combat Team, Sergeant Major Mark Bowman. Major Sarah Smith was awarded the Bronze Star for her recent service. She was initially deployed to Kosovo for 12 months. Following two months back home, she was then deployed to Kabul, Afghanistan, where she was the Chief of Operational Law for a task force of 7,500 soldiers. Major Smith provided guidance and advised the soldiers on the Rules of Engagement and the Law of Armed Combat.

Saint Louis University wins Madison County Bar Association scholarship contest

Posted on October 30, 2009 by Chris Bonjean
SLU's Danielle Jacoby (from left), SLU recipient Elizabeth Nguyen and SLU Law Dean Lewis receive the check from Madison County Bar President Elizabeth Levy and Committee Co-chair Mary Nalefski.
The Madison County Bar Association invited representatives from Saint Louis University School of Law to its October Meeting to celebrate SLU as the winning school of the bar association's scholarship contest. Dean Lewis and Danielle Jacoby from SLU School of Law attended the meeting along with this year's recipient, Elizabeth Nguyen, to accept the contribution of $7,339.06 for the SLU scholarship fund. Scholarship committee chairs were Mary Nalefski, Irv Slate and Lawrence Taliana. The scholarship committee held a good-natured competition over a several month period between law school graduates from Saint Louis University, Washington University, Southern Illinois University and the University of Illinois to match donations from each school's member alumni with funds set aside by the entire membership of the Bar Association to benefit current and future law students. The lawyers donated a total of $18,321 to the law schools. The committee decorated the tables at Sunset Hills in Edwardsville with St.

Madison County Bar Association elects new officers

Posted on June 12, 2009 by Chris Bonjean
Past President Paul Marks, new President Elizabeth Levy and 2nd Vice President Ron Foster attend the Madison County Bar Association's election.
Past President Paul Marks, new President Elizabeth Levy and 2nd Vice President Ron Foster attend the Madison County Bar Association's election.
The Madison County Bar Association elected new officers at its Annual Meeting on May 21 at the Back Porch in Grant Fork. Elected were the Hon. Elizabeth Levine Levy (President), John Stobbs (1st Vice President), Ron Foster (2nd Vice President), Angela Donohoo (Secretary) and David Jones (Treasurer).