September 2010Volume 16Number 1PDF icon PDF version (for best printing)

Recognition for women through ISBA annual awards

One of the goals of the Women and the Law Committee over the past several years has been to increase recognition of women in the profession through nomination of qualified candidates for the many awards presented yearly by the ISBA. The Committee is pleased to say that among its current and past members there are now several Young Law of the Year Award and Laureate Award recipients. Below is a comprehensive list of the awards presented by ISBA. Service and recognition of that commitment to the profession and the Bar is important to the continued growth and development of the organization as a whole. It is the Women and the Law Committee’s hope that through active consideration and nomination of appropriate women candidates for these awards it can play a purposeful role in that growth and development of the ISBA and in the recognition of women in the profession. Further information about these awards is available on the ISBA Web site,




ISBA Award of Honor

“Outstanding and conspicuous service”; need not be an attorney; at most annually

Board of Governor (Search Special Committee)

ISBA Medal of Merit

Exemplary accomplishment; not routine; attorney; continuous long-standing service; at most annually

Board of Governor (Scope and Correlation)

Board of Governors Awards

Exemplary service to the profession and/or the Association or non-lawyers’ meritorious advancing the administration of justice or goals of the profession or the Association

Board of Governor at May meeting (Scope and Correlation)

Assembly Award

At most six Assembly members annually, for exemplary service over their terms; special projects, reports, task force, accomplishments above and beyond that which is expected

Committee of President and Chairs of Assembly Standing Committees (any Assembly delegate)

Newsletter Editor Service Awards

Must average four newsletters per year of service period - 5 yrs, 10 yrs and 15 yrs.

Automatic by IBJ Board

Virgil E. Tipton, Jr. Publication Award

At most annually; outstanding editors of publication other than newsletters

Board of Governors (IBJ Editorial Board)

Austin Fleming Newsletter Editors Award

At most three annually; honors outstanding editors of newsletters, for meritorious services, including length of service (minimum of 10 years), quality of work, number of issues. Nominations due beginning of March.

Board of Governor (IBJ Editorial Board)

Lincoln Award Legal Writing Contest

Annually, First ($1,000), Second ($500), third place ($250) winners; winning paper published in Illinois Bar Journal.

Committee selected by the YLD Council

Community Service Awards

Annually, attorneys or local bar assn., well known, unique community legal service, requiring considerable amount of time

Standing Comm. on Community Involvement

Law Student Division Public Service Award

Annually to law student - recognizing public service and activities enhancing professional responsibility. Nominations due beginning of April

Finalist from each affiliated law school, final recipient selected by special committee

John McAndrews Pro Bono Service Award

Annually, attorneys or law firm or corporate law departments or bar associations, recognizing their commitment to providing free legal services to the poor or expanding the availability of legal services to the poor. Nominations due beginning of March.

Delivery of Legal Services Committee not affiliated with a legal service program.

Login to post comments