Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

Justice Garman announces formation of judicial screening committee to fill vacancy in Fifth District

Illinois Supreme Court Justice Rita B. Garman announced today the formation of a judicial screening committee for the Fifth Judicial Circuit.

The screening committee was formed for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of those persons who have applied for appointment to the Office of Judge of the Circuit Court for the Fifth Judicial Circuit created by the resignation of Judge Claudia Anderson on November 30, 2016. Under the Illinois Constitution, the vacancy will be filled by Supreme Court appointment.

After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed each of the applicants, it will report its findings to the Illinois Supreme Court, which will make the appointment from among those applicants who have been screened by the committee. The person appointed will serve as a judge of the Circuit Court until the first Monday in December following the November 2018 general election.

The screening committee consists of seven persons who reside in the Fifth Judicial Circuit. Four of the committee members are nonlawyers and three are lawyers.

The nonlawyer members of the committee include Stephen Eitel, Todd Lee, Robert Randall, and Deanna Witzel. The lawyer members of the committee include Brent Holmes, Hon. John P. O'Rourke (Ret.), and Judd Peck.

Robert Randall will serve as Chairperson of the Committee.

Applicants who are to be considered for appointment to the judgeship, and will be screened by the committee are: Charles C. Hall, Sarah D. Hocking, Liya J. Hussmann Rogers, Arthur J. Kapella, Sandra Lawlyes, Robert McIntire, Shanon M. McMasters, P. Stephen Miller, David B. Wesner, and Christopher L. Wetzel.

Members of the public are invited to submit comments concerning the applicants by writing to Deanna Witzel, Fifth Judicial Screening Committee, P.O. Box 2507, Danville, IL 61834. Comments should be received by the committee before, Dec. 12, 2016. All comments will be held in the strictest confidence by the committee and the court.

The Fifth Judicial Circuit includes Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Edgar, and Vermilion counties.

Posted on December 2, 2016 by Morgan Yingst