Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
ISBA Mutual Lawyers Malpractice Insurance
view counter
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership
Free CLE
view counter
view counter

ISBA Awards to be Presented at 142nd Annual Meeting

The Illinois State Bar Association will present several awards recognizing individuals for their commitment and service to the profession and their communities at the organization’s 142nd Annual Meeting at The Abbey Resort in Fontana, Wis. Award recipients are:

  • ISBA Board of Governors Award: Barry Hines, John Phipps, Evan Schanerberger, and Janette Strzalka.
  • Medal of Merit Award: Russell Scott.

The ISBA will present additional awards during a ceremony held July 18 at Roanoke in Chicago:

  • Austin Fleming Newsletter Editors Award: Richard Hannigan, Workers' Compensation Law newsletter.
  • Community Leadership Award: State. Rep. Kelly Cassidy.
  • Diversity Leadership Award: Troy Riddle.
  • Roz Kaplan Government Service Award: Marc Stahl.
  • Elmer Gertz Award for Human Rights: Fiona McEntee, founder and managing partner, McEntee Law Group.
  • ISBA Newsletter Service Awards: Cindy Buys, Women & the Law newsletter; Douglas Darch, Employee Benefits newsletter; Karen Kloppe, Elder Law newsletter; Robin Miller, Family Law newsletter; Sarah Toney, Traffic Laws & Courts newsletter; Lewis F. Matuszewich, International & Immigration Law newsletter; W. Eugene Basanta, Health Care Law newsletter; and Michael R. Lied, Labor & Employment Law newsletter.
  • John C. McAndrews Pro Bono Service Award: Judge Michael Brandt; Heller, Holmes & Associates; and State Farm Insurance Company.
  • Joseph R. Bartylak Memorial Legal Services Award: Paul Matalonis. 
  • Law Student Division Public Service Award: Gabriela Zamfir, University of Illinois College of Law.
  • Lincoln Award Legal Writing Contest: First Place: Jake Crabbs, a law clerk for the Circuit Court of Cook County; Second Place: Daniel Ritter, Swanson, Martin & Bell, LLP; Third Place: John Zimmerman, “People v. Kent: The New Standard for Authenticating Social Media Evidence." 
  • Legal Education Award: The Civil Justice Clinic of Northern Illinois University College of Law.
  • Matthew Maloney Tradition of Excellence Award: Sandra Crawford.
  • Richard H. Teas Legislative Support Award: Larry Davis.
  • Young Lawyer of the Year: Jessica Marshall, Anderson & Boback, LLC; Emily Hansen, Walsh Construction.

Ceremony information and registration details.

Posted on June 5, 2018 by Rhys Saunders
Filed under: