Roz Kaplan Government Service Award

The Roz Kaplan Government Service Award honors government attorneys whose dedication and service have made a difference. The Award recognizes attorneys who, like Roz Kaplan, dedicate their careers to government service. 

Award Winners

2018 - Marc Stahl, Cook County Public Defender’s Office

2017- Pat Driscoll, Cook County Dept. of Administrative Hearings

2016 - Alan Spellberg, Cook County State’s Attorney

2015 - Kathryn A. Kelly


The recipient must have at least 20 years of recent, service in the public sector as a full-time employee, not a member of the judiciary, of a Federal, State of Illinois, or Illinois local government agency or office; must be a member of the ISBA; must have provided distinguished service to the profession, the bar association, or government; must be an outstanding leader in his/her field; must have an exemplary record and reputation in the legal community; and must follow the highest ethical standards.

Nomination Process

To nominate a person for this award, please attach a letter or other supporting documentation that includes the following information:

  1. Name of nominee;
  2. Name of nominee's law office or organization;
  3. Nominee's contact information, including telephone and email address;
  4. Whether the nominee is a member of the ISBA;
  5. The length of government service of the nominee;
  6. A description of how the nominee has made significant contributions to the legal profession, the bar association, or government through dedicated public service, has shown leadership in his/her field, has an exemplary record and reputation in the legal community, and  follows the highest ethical standards; and
  7. Contact information of the nominator.

If you have any questions, please contact Melissa Burkholder at

Nominations are closed, please check back in the fall to nominate someone next year.