ISBA Civic Education Award

The Committee on Law-Related Education has established “ISBA Civics Education Award” designed to annually honor up to three individuals who have helped educate the public about civics, especially our legal system.

Past Winners


  • Hon. Justin Hansen
  • Kathleen Karayannis
  • Kelsey Chetosky


  • Sarah Taylor
  • Judge Wilbrandt
  • Michael Alkaraki


  • Must be a member of the ISBA, either volunteered through the Mock Trial Invitational, Lawyers in the Classroom or the Speakers Bureau;
  • Must provide students with an opportunity to practice identifiable, practical legal skills, including but not limited to civics education.

The Program should exhibit one or more of the following:

  • Has provided students with a hands on opportunity to understand the legal system(s);
  • Has educated the public/non-attorneys;
  • Significantly educated the profession in a positive, educational environment;
  • Promotes the efficient use of students’ resources;
  • Serves as example, though its record of exceptional advocacy, leadership and dedication, of excellence in the practice of law.

Nomination Process

To nominate a person or organization for this award, please attach a letter or other supporting documentation that includes the following information:

  1. Name of Nominator;
  2. Name of Nominee and which endeavor;
  3. Nominee’s contact information, including telephone and email address;
  4. Describe the program, identify the practical skill taught and state why you believe it is noteworthy;
  5. Contact information of the nominator. (Only ISBA members can nominate an individual or organization for this award).

We're sorry, but nominations are closed. Please check back in the fall.